Rita Mae Brown Books In Order

Rita Mae Brown is a celebrated American novelist, poet, and screenwriter. Her works often explore themes of feminist politics, lesbian identity, and rural life in the United States. Her books have won numerous awards and have been published in more than 20 languages. Here is a list of some of her most popular books, in order of publication:

1. Rubyfruit Jungle (1973): This coming-of-age novel tells the story of Molly Bolt, a young girl who moves away from her family in rural Pennsylvania and embarks on a quest of self-discovery. With its frank depiction of lesbian identity and its humorous yet poignant look at life in the American South, Rubyfruit Jungle has become a classic of LGBT literature.

2. Sudden Death (1983): In this gripping mystery novel, Brown tells the story of a small-town lawyer in Virginia who discovers the truth behind the suspicious death of a wealthy industrialist. Filled with intrigue and suspense, Sudden Death is a thrilling page-turner.

3. Bingo (1984): This coming-of-age novel follows the story of a young woman from a small town in Virginia as she moves to Washington, D.C. to pursue her dreams. With its honest depiction of life in the city, Bingo has become a beloved classic.

4. Six of One (1978): In this popular novel, Brown tells the story of a group of women living in a small town in Virginia. Through a series of interconnected vignettes, the reader follows the women as they navigate the joys and struggles of everyday life.

5. Outfoxed (1985): In this mystery novel, Brown tells the story of a young woman who investigates the mysterious disappearance of a beloved fox. With its blend of suspense and drama, Outfoxed is a captivating read.

6. Starting from Scratch (1988): This memoir tells the story of Brown’s own journey of self-discovery. Through a series of personal essays, she recounts her experiences of growing up in rural Virginia and coming to terms with her own sexuality.