Lotr Books In Order

J.R.R. Tolkien is the beloved author of the Lord of the Rings book series. His books have been praised by readers of all ages and have been adapted into movies, theater performances, and video games. The books in the series are as follows:

1. The Fellowship of the Ring, published in 1954. It follows the journey of Frodo Baggins and his friends as they embark on a quest to destroy the One Ring and defeat the Dark Lord Sauron.

2. The Two Towers, published in 1954. This book is about the battles of the characters against the forces of Sauron, and the internal struggle of Frodo and Sam as they continue their quest.

3. The Return of the King, published in 1955. This book details the epic climax and conclusion of the quest to destroy the One Ring.

4. The Hobbit, published in 1937. This book follows the journey of Bilbo Baggins as he embarks on a quest to reclaim the Lonely Mountain from the dragon Smaug.

5. The Silmarillion, published in 1977. This book provides insight into the world of Middle-earth and its history, as well as some of the backstories behind the characters.

6. Unfinished Tales of Númenor and Middle-earth, published in 1980. This book contains a collection of stories and essays that Tolkien had written about the world of Middle-earth.

7. The Children of Húrin, published in 2007. This book tells the story of Túrin Turambar and his sister Nienor, and their struggle against the forces of Morgoth.

8. The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún, published in 2009. This book follows the story of Sigurd and Gudrún from the Norse mythology, which was a major influence on Tolkien’s works.

9. The Fall of Gondolin, published in 2018. This book tells the story of the Elf-city of Gondolin and its fall to the forces of Morgoth.