Books By J.R.R. Tolkien In Order

J.R.R. Tolkien was an English writer, poet, philologist, and university professor who is best known for his fantasy novel series The Lord of the Rings. Tolkien was a major scholar of the English language, specializing in Old and Middle English. He also wrote a number of other works, including The Hobbit and The Silmarillion. Here is a list of his books in order:

1. The Hobbit (1937): This beloved children’s classic was the first of Tolkien’s works to be published. It tells the story of Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who embarks on an epic adventure.

2. The Fellowship of the Ring (1954): The first book of The Lord of the Rings series, this novel follows Frodo Baggins and his group of companions as they set out on a quest to destroy the One Ring.

3. The Two Towers (1954): The second book of The Lord of the Rings series, this novel continues the story of Frodo and his companions as they battle the forces of Sauron in Middle-earth.

4. The Return of the King (1955): The third book of The Lord of the Rings series, this novel brings the epic story to its conclusion as Frodo and his companions battle to save Middle-earth from the forces of Sauron.

5. The Silmarillion (1977): This collection of mythopoeic stories tells the history of the creation of Middle-earth and the events that followed.

6. Unfinished Tales (1980): This collection of stories and essays reveals more of the history and lore of Middle-earth.

7. The Children of Húrin (2007): This novel tells the tragic story of Túrin, a man cursed by Morgoth, the first Dark Lord.

8. The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún (2009): This collection of poems tells the story of Sigurd and Gudrún, two heroes of the Elder Edda.